My Experience with Type 4 Hair

My experience with 4b/4c hair

My hair is 4b/4c hair and I love it, but I didn’t always. When I first became natural my hair was so new to me, I couldn’t understand why it was so dry looking. My hair looked unkempt, uncombed and like it was screaming for moisture. Even after I had just combed, styled and moisturized it 2 hours before. This gave me a bit of a complex especially seeing all these girls on tube with lovely hair that looked nothing like mine.

I was completely out of my comfort zone, I didn’t know how to care for this type of hair, no matter what I done to it I didn’t think it look the way I wanted it to look. When I put my hair into a ponytail my edges were frizzy and wouldn’t lay flat so my hair looked messy.

Whenever I done twist-outs there was no curl definition and there was a lot of puffiness and my hair looked more like a wave pattern not a curl which I was hoping for.

My hair looked like this …..when I wanted it look like this

I tried high puffs or even simple ponytails but my edges were too frizzy and wouldn’t lay down so this made the style look messy.

I wanted to define my curls but my hair was so undefined I couldn’t achieve it, and my twist-outs just didn’t look the way I wanted them to look. I had a big problem with twist-outs when I was hoping my hair would turn out like picture a, it would turn out like picture b. Not that there is anything wrong

with picture b, I just had a different style in mind. So this prompted me to change my thinking on

what my hair can and can’t do.

Realizing my hair typing and that it was mostly 4c with an mix of 4b, was useful because it enabled me to identify hair care techniques for my hair and realizing I wasn’t alone, and there was actually a community of people out there with my type of hair was refreshing, though I still found a lot of information geared more towards 3a/3b hair textures. I still tried But the down side to putting a hair in a category type is the fact that it is a category it’s put in a box. I constantly kept hearing my hair was unmanageable, course, dry and could absolutely not achieve curl definition.

If I wasn’t the person that I aim I would completely accept the information what I read and would have felt totally limited in what I thought I could do with my hair. After all it wasn’t a lie my hair was dry and course and hard to manage so why would I believe would be easier to manage, softer and less course, moisturized and less dry and ultimately have curl definition. But I wanted to be adventurous I looked to see if there was any information out there to do this but the only advice I got was to

texturize or texlax my hair and even then I would still have to roller set or use a curling iron, unless I curly permed my hair only then will I get the look I want.

I was not happy with these answers, I did not want to put my hair through another chemical treatment, I wanted to define my curls naturally. Therefore after numerous trails and errors I came up with my own regime to achieve the look that I wanted.

I am not a product junkie so I can’t say I tried everything out there because I am extremely picky about what I put in my hair, so I can’t really say it was the product that helped me achieve defined

curls, what really made me achieve defined curls was the technique. In the beginning I didn’t think

much of the technique, for me it was just a way of doing my hair the way I wanted it to look. But

after many friends and even stranger would ask me how I got my hair like that, it eventually took my

husband who encouraged me to do a blog naming it “define my curls” method (DMC method).

When my hair is dry and brushed out, it still looks just as big and stretched as a blowout.  It amazes me that so many naturals grab the blow dryer whenever they want to have stretched hair.  Sure the blowdryer is faster but why risk the damage?   Since I discovered how to do this it has become the method I use to stretch my hair everytime I want to straighten it or see some length.

There are hairbrushes and there are flatirons, and then there are hairbrushes that plug into an outlet, heat up, and act like flatirons. I’d never seen them before and then all of a sudden I received two of them at my desk last week. They sounded too good to be true, which is why I wanted to find out which ones work and which ones don’t. At first glance, they seem like the perfect flatiron substitute for those with fine, wavy-to-straight hair, but what about curly girls? A group of editors put these tools to the test.

I tested the Head Kandy Straightening Brush on my fine, naturally straight hair. On mornings after I blow-dry, it’s usually smooth sailing (pun intended), but it’s when I try to get away with second- or third-day hair that I run into trouble. My hair’s so thin that if I fall asleep on my back, I wake up with indentations at the roots that are impossible to get rid of. Flatirons make targeting those spots difficult because they’re so close to my scalp, so I was excited to see what this high-tech brush could do. It looks exactly like the basic paddle brush I use every morning, so it seemed like an easy swap. Good news: it was. I’m obsessed. I don’t think it polishes my ends quite like a flatiron does, but it worked wonders for the hair around my scalp, and it smoothed out my overall look.

Leave a Reply

